Apple’s Questionable Standards Support Strikes Again

When Apple announced the availability of DRM-free music at the iTunes Music Store last May, my response at the time was a resounding “meh”. I’ve been paying for restricted music on iTMS for more than two years, and if I ever needed to move my music beyond my computer or iPod I’d just burn a CD.

But now, thanks to my spiffy new Nokia, I can use an entire song as my ringtone so it won’t sound like every other Nokia out there. You all know what I’m talking about.

There’s just one problem: The supposedly unrestricted iTunes Plus tracks won’t play on my phone.

It’s actually not a copy-protection issue but instead yet another example of Apple not adhering to standard file formats. And it apparently comes down to a mere five lines of code within the actual file!

And here they are:

Atom stsd @ 450 of size: 32871, ends @ 33321
Atom mp4a @ 466 of size: 32855, ends @ 33321
Atom esds @ 502 of size: 51, ends @ 553
Atom pinf @ 553 of size: 32768, ends @ 33321 ~
Atom stts @ 33321 of size: 24, ends @ 33345

And in case you were wondering, “~” represents an unknown value. Yeah, I picked up immediately on that too…

So at this point my options would be to either:

  1. Hack into the file somehow and rewrite the offending lines of code.
  2. Burn a CD of the single track then rip it back to my computer as an MP3.
  3. Give up.

Thankfully Joshua King has a solution that trumps all these. He’s written a handy little Java app that copies the track with the proper code in place. Because it’s Java the same version will run on both Mac and PC, and there’s also a version you can use directly on your handset. Oh, and did I mention that it’s absolutely free?

Now playing iTunes Plus tracks on your Nokia couldn’t be easier — unless, of course, Apple had gotten the file format right in the first place…

About Andrew

Mobile phones, Linux and copyright reform. Those go together, right?
This entry was posted in Mobile and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.