AC in BA: More on Metrovias

On my last full day in Buenos Aires I turned to the internet for guidance, and this thoughtful list got me back on the city’s Subte for one final ride to yet another grand old café.

I wouldn’t have otherwise known, but Line A of the network still has the original trains dating back as far as 1919! You see pictures of what the cars look like on the inside on Wikipedia. The best I could do is this video:

In addition to the cellular coverage mentioned in a previous post, I was shocked to find a free WiFi network available on the platform of every station:

Free Subway WiFi?!

Free WiFi?!

Every other subway system in the world would do well to learn from this; I for one would never complain about a missed train again…

About Andrew

Mobile phones, Linux and copyright reform. Those go together, right?
This entry was posted in Mobile, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to AC in BA: More on Metrovias

  1. rdolishny says:

    Do the doors close themselves or does the last one in close them behind themselves? Cool!

  2. AC says:

    Hey Rick,

    My outbound train from the city centre didn’t have a conductor like the one in the video — maybe it’s only a rush hour thing?

    I stood in the front car with a conductor on the ride back, but couldn’t tell if she was actually opening and closing the doors or just unlocking them so the passengers could do it themselves, like they were on the first train I rode…

  3. Ed Miller says:

    AC:

    I’m amazed the doorman has the doors already open as the train comes to a stop! that would speed up the Toronto subway so much (though you’d probably have a lot of people injured as well…).

    Wi-Fi on the TTC platforms would be a good thing, though.

    Ed

  4. AC says:

    I’ve heard the buses here are notorious for rolling stops, but didn’t investigate for myself — too busy trying to avoid them altogether as they blasted through the narrow streets!

Comments are closed.