Alumni Week Post-Mortem

As this particular improviser gets older, he finds himself less prone to throw himself onstage with an army of others in an improv free for all.

Last year I did the set after the alumni week guys night and never found a suitable opportunity to leave the back wall of the stage; some folks, myself included, thought I had lost my edge. This year I sat out the whole affair, and was congratulated on my wisdom. Go figure.

About Andrew

Mobile phones, Linux and copyright reform. Those go together, right?
This entry was posted in Live and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Alumni Week Post-Mortem

  1. Chris says:

    So this is my question, as a student of the Improv game, I want to know. If you could do it again do you think that there’s a way you could keep the Improv idea fresh and interesting. You?re not the first Improver I’ve met that seems to lose the… Well I’m not sure if lose is a good term, but I’ve heard similar stories from many people in the game and I was wondering if you have any sage advice for those of us that feel like we’ll never lose the enthusiasm but fear we might.

  2. Hopefully I haven’t lost my enthusiasm for improv; I’d like to think that in this particular case I was wise enough to spot a potentially bad situation—that is, too many people on stage with nothing to do but one-up each other.

    When you get to be an old fogey like me, your criteria for good improv changes. I still remember performing with the Touring Company in Sault Ste. Marie and being very proud of myself for rattling off a series of thinly-veiled fag jokes, to great laughter and applause. Nowadays, it is a premise with legs that I hunt.

  3. Chris says:

    I guess that’s what experience is in Improv. I’m hungry to go on stage all of the time, you?re hungry to go on stage at the right time. I do see your point though, I have come across some people in my class that would rather go for the cheap and simple joke, then try something clever. I always had hoped people would either grow out of this or drop out.

Comments are closed.