Technical Difficulties

If anyone has been trying to reach me by telephone in the last few days, you were probably a bit surprised to be dumped in the middle of the Fido voicemail system, instead of being directed to my specific mailbox.

If you’re interested, here’s what was happening:

When someone tried to call me, the call would go from my Bell landline to Fido to the AT&T network here in Bermuda. If I didn’t answer, the call would be routed from AT&T back to Fido, but in that routing my Fido number would be lost, so when the call got back to the Fido voicemail system it wouldn’t know what mailbox to go to.

This makes sense, because call display isn’t working for me down here, indicating that AT&T network can’t route back to Fido for the caller’s ID.

The solution? If I turn my phone off when it’s not immediately available the call will never leave Canada, and go straight from Bell to Fido, without ever leaving the country.

Neat, huh?

About Andrew

Mobile phones, Linux and copyright reform. Those go together, right?
This entry was posted in Mobile, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.