NOW What?

now_lies.jpg

Graffiti or prophecy? Taken at the corner of Dundas Street & University Avenue.

You may have noticed that I haven’t had any tech columns published in NOW Magazine as of late. Here’s why:

Two of the three pieces I’ve had published have proved to be an epic struggle with my editor, requiring multiple rewrites and lengthy phone conversations. A piece I wrote about the Telus bid to take over Fido followed a similar pattern, but after lots of tweaking I woke up on the morning of June 17th fully expecting to see my very timely piece in the new edition of the free weekly paper.

Instead I got a short email from the editor saying that the piece was “really close but not quite there”, whereas just a few days prior it seemed like it was a go. And I haven’t had any correspondence with her since.

With my paltry commission I certainly didn’t take on this gig for the money, but the constant rejection is starting to wear on my impregnable ego just a little bit, as it becomes more and more apparent that my editor clearly isn’t a fan.

So what do you think? Time for me to move on, or should I just suck it up and thank my lucky stars for this low-paying but high-profile opportunity?

About Andrew

Mobile phones, Linux and copyright reform. Those go together, right?
This entry was posted in Old Media and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NOW What?

  1. Ed Miller says:

    AC:

    Fight the corporate power! Set up your own tech magazine that features hooker ads in the back!

    Ed

  2. Thomas says:

    mm…keep writing the way you do for your self
    but keep the job, work is work.

    (freedom of speech my ass)

    -tom

Comments are closed.