Better Ted than Telus

rogersfido.jpg

The big telco news yesterday was the announcement of a friendly takeover of Fido by Rogers. Yeah, I know what you’re thinking:

“Serves you right, Currie, for abandoning your landline phone in the first place! What’cha gonna do now, smart guy?”

Well, for starters I’ll ease through the changeover thanks to my 24-month City Fido contract. And the higher prices I’ll likely have to pay when the contract expires will be eased somewhat by the 10% discount I’ll be entitled to as a Rogers VIP customer. And I’ll have access to Rogers’ extended 850MHz GSM network, so I’ll no longer be charged for analog roaming when I’m at the cottage.

It’ll be sad to see Fido go, of course. But assimilation by Rogers is a much better alternative to a Telus takeover; all signs pointed to Telus dismantling the Fido network and forcing refugees to migrate to CDMA.

About Andrew

Mobile phones, Linux and copyright reform. Those go together, right?
This entry was posted in Canada, Mobile. Bookmark the permalink.