Safe and Sound

steve_jenny.jpg

Husband and wife reunited at St. Mike’s…

Who knew that a corporate gig for Second City would end up in the Emergency Room of St. Michael’s Hospital? Well, that’s exactly what happened Monday night.

After Jenny Parsons and I took part in an improv set at the Academy of Spherical Arts we were treated to some free appetizers courtesy of the client. After a small bite of an apparently delicious portabello mushroom with cheese, Jenny asked our server what was in it. “Crab” was not the answer she had expected — she’s seriously allergic to shellfish, so much so that on our tours of Asia she carried a peace of paper with her at all times, with Chinese characters spelling out the message “Please don’t feed me shellfish; I will die”.

Fearing that her throat could close up within a few minutes, Musician Jim Clayton immediately offered to take her to hospital. I went along in case we had to use her EpiPen en route.

Thankfully, Jenny was fine, and after a quick visit with a doctor was given a couple of Benadryls and released, just in time to greet her husband Steve Morel in the waiting room.

I can’t really say that I did much during this crisis, but I guess my dad, the former chief surgeon at St. Mike’s, could at least be proud of my bedside manner… And my choice in hospitals!

About Andrew

Mobile phones, Linux and copyright reform. Those go together, right?
This entry was posted in Old Media and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.