Blogs as Career Aid: No Argument Here!

Eyes Logo

I can’t believe I didn’t find this earlier… A recent article on The Boston Globe website proposes that blogs are essential to a good career. Not only do I wholeheartedly agree with the points they make, but I’ve got my own experience to add to each of them:

  1. Blogging creates a network. Absolutely. A one-off post I made about the seal hunt last year has given birth to a spirited debate on the subject from all sides, free for you to read or contribute to.
  2. Blogging can get you a job. And it did.
  3. Blogging is great training. True enough. I knew diddly-squat about CSS before I switched to a CMS. I’m still no expert, of course… But at least now I know the difference between the two.
  4. Blogging helps you move up quickly. And it helps you maintain your expert status as well. With all the other work I’m getting I can no longer call myself a full-time professional actor. But check the comments on my showbiz-related posts and you’ll see lots of lively discussion there. In other words: entertainment-types are still interested in what I have to say!
  5. Blogging makes self-employment easier. Oh yes… Instead of carrying business cards with me, I now flippantly tell prospective employers to Google me. I love that!
  6. Blogging provides more opportunities. My career has certainly diversified since I started this site.
  7. Blogging could be your big break. Who knows who’s reading this right now?
  8. Blogging makes the world a better place. Couldn’t agree more. Why read what some overpaid journalist dumbs down for you? Passion, not profit, makes for more compelling writing. ‘Nuff said.

So there you have it. If you don’t already have a blog of your own you may well be committing career suicide!

😎

About Andrew

Mobile phones, Linux and copyright reform. Those go together, right?
This entry was posted in New Media and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.