Fido Getting hiptop3 Soon?

image

It doesn’t look like much, but this grab from Industry Canada‘s website is huge news for Fido hiptop users… What it means is that the hiptop3 has been approved for sale in Canada!

It’s a bit of a shocker, as the hiptop3’s very existence was confirmed only two days ago by documents online at the FCC. Here’s what it looks like, courtesy of Engadget Mobile:

image

Improvements over my current hiptop include a 1.3 Megapixel camera, Bluetooth connectivity and removable memory. If it were up to me I’d nix the Bluetooth in favour of UMA, so I could make roaming-free international calls using my hotel internet connection on the road. But I guess this’ll have to do…

😎

About Andrew

Mobile phones, Linux and copyright reform. Those go together, right?
This entry was posted in Mobile and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fido Getting hiptop3 Soon?

  1. Leines says:

    MUST HAVE NOW….. mmmmmm sidekick 3….. my hiptop2 was stolen last week… with this news, i will hold off on a replacement until this comes out… any indication from fido of release date??

  2. Hey, thanks for the comment!

    As I’m sure you know, Fido traditionally lags behind U.S. uber-carrier T-Mobile in hiptop releases. My suggestion is to follow either or both of my favourite discussion forums on the subject:

    http://www.hiptop.com/forums/viewforum.php?f=47
    http://www.howardforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=48

    Happy hiptop3 hunting…

  3. For any hiptop hunters surfing this post, Engadget has found another pic:

    http://www.engadgetmobile.com/2006/05/01/is-this-the-t-mobile-branded-sidekick-iii/

    I like, I like!

  4. Sidekickluver says:

    I am moving to vancouver and i want da sidekick 3 soooo badly!! when is it coming out there??? NEED TO KNOWWWW

  5. Cody Gibson says:

    HEY!!!!!!!!!!I CAN’T BELIEVE THAT THE HIPTOP3 IS COMING OUT IN CANADA, I HAVE WANTED ONE FOR LIKE 7 MONTHS AND NOW I CAN GET ONE SOON!!!!!!1 iT’S GONNA KICK SOME WHITE ASS!!!!LOL(im white so im not being rasist)

  6. Not so fast there, Cody. Unfortunately there are lots of rumours out there about Fido carrying/not carrying the ht3, and nobody knows for sure…

    The information in this post confirms only that Industry Canada (whoever they are) has approved it for sale in this country, and not necessarily that Fido has decided to carry it. Stay tuned!

  7. LeineS says:

    I gave up waiting… and went and bought a ppc6700.. or the tmobile MDA… same phone..and with the combo of wifi access and skype Voip.. makes its way way way better then the sidekick 3…. look into it.. sk3s arent as nice as first thought…

    LeineS

  8. Hey Tony, how do you like Windows Mobile? Have you seen my post about the HTC TyTN?

    I’m considering such a move myself, but the biggest thing I’ll miss is having my PIM data automagically backed up onto the web, without having to rely on Outlook.

    Any ideas on that? The best solution I’ve found so far is from the folks at Mail2Web.com:

    http://live.mail2web.com/

Comments are closed.