We Don’t Need Another Omen

image

Lady, I know just how you feel…

Happy 666 everyone! Hollycrud is celebrating this date by releasing a remake of The Omen. The original is now thirty years old, but it seemed good enough to scare the bejesus out of me when I saw it on video some years later, and I have to say that after watching the trailers for this new version I can’t see anything especially compelling or different about it.

So for the young’uns out there, I’m wondering… Is there any specific rationale for you to see this over the original? Do movies made in the twentieth century have cooties, perhaps? Or is it that you need to see a CG Satan instead of the old-tymey alternative?

If you can’t answer this question maybe you should boycott this shameless attempt at calendar-profiteering, or at least register a complaint on the movie’s MySpace page like I’m going to do now…

😎

About Andrew

Mobile phones, Linux and copyright reform. Those go together, right?
This entry was posted in Old Media and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We Don’t Need Another Omen

  1. Michelle says:

    I prefer to think of today as Official Slayer Day

  2. Ed Miller says:

    AC:
    I’m not as disturbed by an Omen remake as I am by a Welcome Back, Kotter remake. That is the true Satanic movie. What’s next? Maybe a Peter-Jackson-directed 3-hour Hello, Larry? Who’s the Boss starring P Diddy and Jennifer Lopez?
    And does anyone see anything remotely interesting about the Miami Vice movie? Should have gone the Starsky & Hutch road with that one….

    Ed

Comments are closed.