Living with Linux: A Laptop Less Ugly

image

“Ladies and gentlemen… In this corner we have the pride of America, the ugly as all get out Dell Inspiron 1300… And in this corner, the ‘holy cow!’ from the land of Mao, the Lenovo 3000 C100!”

So a funny thing happened the day after I ordered my Dell laptop. I guess I was in such a hurry to secure the discounted price that I missed one of the digits on my credit card. As a result, the order has not yet been processed.

This gives me the opportunity to consider another cheap notebook computer from Lenovo (the Chinese company that bought out IBM’s PC business last year), currently on sale at an honest to goodness brick and mortar store. I checked it out yesterday and it does look considerably less hideous then the Dell, especially around the keyboard area. Feature-wise the two are very similar, and though the Dell has a widescreen display, dual-layer DVD burner and the all-important free carrying case, the Lenovo has S-Video out, FireWire in and a free multifunction printer thrown in for free to sweeten the deal. Or, I can forgo the hassle of mail-in rebates and buy it direct from the Lenovo Canada website.

And if I do that I can also get a matching Lenovo carrying case, just not for free.

😦

About Andrew

Mobile phones, Linux and copyright reform. Those go together, right?
This entry was posted in Desktop and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Living with Linux: A Laptop Less Ugly

  1. albert says:

    Enough with the suspense! What will you buy?

  2. Rick Dolishny says:

    A PC laptop with firewire? Go for it! Seriously isn’t that kinda rare?

  3. Rick, I thought so too… It’s a 4-pin connector, though — like the one pictured here. Nothing Active Surplus can’t solve, though…

    And Al, you’ll just have to wait until my next post!

    🙂

Comments are closed.