Who’s Winning This War on Terror, Anyway?

image

As someone who’s hopefully going to spend about 30 hours in the air during the next couple of weeks, I guess I should be thankful that the latest terror plot was foiled. But the resulting mayhem that I’ve been watching on TV all evening has instead prompted this quick reality check.

Here’s what we’ve given up since 9/11:

  1. All kinds of personal freedoms, like the right to an untapped phone conversation, for example.
  2. The ability to not be treated like a criminal when boarding a plane, or getting off of one.
  3. Any kind of respect or even tolerance of Muslim culture and people, the vast majority of whom are actually not members of Al-Quaeda.

And here, best as I can tell, is what we’ve gained:

  1. Oil that we’re paying through the nose for in money and blood.
  2. Some very questionable ethics in the treatment of our accused enemies.
  3. The “privilege” of having our soldiers blown up in faraway places.

I don’t know about you, but it seems to me like we’re getting our asses kicked here!

About Andrew

Mobile phones, Linux and copyright reform. Those go together, right?
This entry was posted in Random, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Who’s Winning This War on Terror, Anyway?

  1. Chris says:

    If you want an interesting reality check, rent Atomic Cafe (even if you’ve seen it already rent it again) and learn how things happen in cycles.

  2. Hi Chris,

    For anyone reading this comments I can also highly recommend the BBC documentary on Hiroshima that aired on Newsworld this past weekend…

    Now to be perfectly clear here, I am not in any way advocating the nuking of anyone!

    For me, the only way to win this war is not to play. Look at Spain, for example — they learned from their harsh lesson and pulled out of Iraq shortly thereafer. Correct me if I’m wrong, but it doesn’t look like anyone’s been bothering them since…

  3. Here’s some breaking news:

    http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/14320452/

    “… Some (of the suspects) did not even have passports.”

    Like the majority of most U.S. citizens, you mean?

    😕

Comments are closed.