Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip… Why?

image

It’s not that I thought the pilot episode of NBC’s Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip was particularly bad, but I do think that its very existence is fundamentally wrong.

Has Hollywood so exhausted its supply of original ideas that a television network would dramatize a show that is still on the air? Or does Studio 60 seek to woo an older crowd, specifically the boomers who watched the original Not Ready for Prime Time Players but can no longer relate to the comedy show that hasn’t grown up with them?

Or maybe people are actually interested in the mundane goings-on behind a light entertainment show? Whatever the case can someone please help me understand, because I’m quite honestly baffled here!

😯

About Andrew

Mobile phones, Linux and copyright reform. Those go together, right?
This entry was posted in Old Media and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip… Why?

  1. Ian says:

    Hey chief, I watched Studio 60 the other night and I quite dug it. Admittedly I’m a pretty big Sorkin fan (I even mounted, directed, and starred in a production of an obscure Sorkin one-act at the Halifax Fringe). I get what you’re saying, but I think you’re off the mark. From what I’ve seen the show looks to be about more than just a faux-SNL. In fact, in the first 3 minutes they pretty much write off their “version” of SNL as a once great show that has become culturally irrelevant (which sounds right to me). It seems like the show will be about satire, art vs commerce, and the role of television in today’s society (look at me, defending a television show’s over-arcing message before it’s even aired). If you want proof though, I HIGHLY reccomend watching Sorkin’s “Sports Night”. I can’t think of anything less meaningful than a sports news program, and that show still rocked my world. I don’t even like sports. Anyways, if you wanna watch that I’ll gladly lend the box set to you.

  2. I think ultimately my beef lies with Hollywood continuing to feast upon its own ass. I know it’s hard to believe, but there are still lots of compelling stories out there about people who DON’T work in showbiz…

    As for behind the scenes showbiz fare Larry Sanders was great, but that was ten years ago and I think it’s time we all moved on!

Comments are closed.