Does Anybody Even Make Desktop Apps Anymore?

Dashwire (WTF?!)

So I’m reading intomobile’s coverage of a new service called Dashwire, which lets you manage your mobile phone’s contacts, photos, texts, web bookmarks and more from a single, handy web page. As an unabashed power user who regularly shuttles files and info back and forth from MacBook to Nokia someone like me would be the perfect candidate for something like this, were it not for one thing:

There is no way in hell I’m going to blindly turn over my precious info to a bunch of strangers, especially if it’s for free!

In my hiptop days I could justify having the same data stored on Danger’s remote servers because I was paying $20/month for the privilege of so doing — I could at least hope that some of that money was going towards keeping my data safe. But you have to wonder about Dashwire’s business plan, as the screenshots on their site are so cram-packed with info from your handset that there isn’t any apparent room for advertising. In fact, the only thing they ask for in return for their service is your mobile phone number, which we all know from my last post is something you should guard with your very life!

mint Hacker

And then there’s mint, the award-winning Web 2.0 startup that offers “refreshing money management”. You just hand over your bank account and credit card info and they’ll give you free pie charts and spending graphs in return.

Uh-huh.

Either of these would make for a fine “traditional” application on a desktop computer — hey, I’d pay money for both if the price was right. But to take your sensitive data and stash it god-knows-where on the web behind a tarted-up facade of AJAX geegaws? I smell a scam.

Of course, I still don’t trust Gmail…

About Andrew

Mobile phones, Linux and copyright reform. Those go together, right?
This entry was posted in Mobile and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Does Anybody Even Make Desktop Apps Anymore?

  1. Pingback: www.topcreditcardsadvice.info » Does Anybody Even Make Desktop Apps Anymore?

  2. Ed Miller says:

    AC:
    Security is, sadly, a growth industry. For example, I get a daily security tip on my desktop each time I log in at work, and one of the Mac mags has a cover story on ensuring your Mac is safe this month–guess what prompted me to buy that issue?
    But cellphone security is another matter. My phone, the LG Chocolate slider, only locks if you power down, so I am now in the habit of shutting it off and restarting it after use because there’s no way to lock it otherwise (maybe the Telus version does, but the good folks at Bell have locked it out). Bluetooth? That stays off, too.

    Ed

    PS: I use Gmail for my home address, but I never send anything confidential by e-mail. the one nice thing is that I use Apple Mail to access Gmail, so I get 2 layeers of spam filtering. I get more spam at work (Outlook servers) than I do at home….

Comments are closed.