Life without QWERTY?

Nokia N82 in Black

File this under: “Oh no, here he goes again…”

This brand-new Nokia flagship N82 in black would be a perfect compliment for the birthday present I gave myself last year, don’t ya think? Of course, there’s absolutely nothing wrong with my trusty E61i, per se — it’s just that the Nseries, and in particular the N82’s 5-megapixel camera with insanely-bright Xenon flash, DVD-quality video and TV-out seems better suited to this film school grad than a slightly stuffier Eseries business phone.

But here’s the thing: If I switched to an N82 it would be my first non-QWERTY mobile since my stint with Sony Ericssons in 2003-2004. So I ask you, my fellow smartphone enthusiasts: Am I crazy for even thinking of giving up QWERTY, or is texting fine with T9?

Leave your comments below… Thanks in advance!

About Andrew

Mobile phones, Linux and copyright reform. Those go together, right?
This entry was posted in Mobile and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Life without QWERTY?

  1. Yes, you are total crazy.

    But that camera is oh *so* good!

  2. Ed Miller says:

    AC:

    I strongly dislike non-QWERTY keyboards, but that’s what I’m used to using. I can hit 80 wpm on a full-sized keyboard just because I don’t have to think of where the letters are.

    On the other hand, I’m not a fast thumb-typist, so when I type on my non-QWERTY LG Chocolate, I’m probably working at the same speed whether the letters are in the right place or not. I should mention that I don’t text message or e-mail from my phone. If I were to do a lot of typing on a phone, I think QWERTY would definitely be a key consideration when browsing phones.

    How much do you plan on typing with this new phone?

    Ed

  3. AC says:

    James, thanks for writing in… I’m going to add you as a Flickr contact if that’s ok — love those tilt-shift photos from Venice!

    How do you like keypad on your N82?

    And Ed, I plan on texting just as much on this new beast as I do on my current Nokia.

    I’ve actually got a very active discussion on this same subject happening over at the HowardForums:

    http://tinyurl.com/3s7ua2

    One of the other members there has pointed me to this nifty online mobile typing test:

    http://www.iphonetypingtest.com/

    I’m only getting about 35 wpm on my E61i. If you can do better, post your results here!

Comments are closed.