Sharing Is Easy – Almost Too Easy

Is it even conceivable that you haven’t yet seen the bazillion FriendFeeds, Twitter tweets or Facebook status updates that I’ve been using to document the minutiae of my N97 24/7 tour?

Thanks to the hi-res camera, the expansive QWERTY keypad and some very clever software on Nokia’s flagship N97 it’s all ridiculously easy, am I’m starting to wonder if that’s always a good thing.

I’ve never really had the opportunity to use Twitpic until this trip, but I’ve quickly gotten up to speed thanks to Gravity, an excellent Twitter client made exclusively for S60 smartphones and available on Nokia’s Ovi Store.

With just a few clicks I can upload a beautiful yet bandwidth-friendly photo that’s announced to the internets via a 140-character tweet.

Qik goes a few hundred steps further and turns your mobile phone into a portable television station, and also uses Twitter as it’s notification engine. I’ve used it before on other Nokia devices, and it still blows me away that you can stream video in real time and even have viewers text chatting with you while you’re recording.

I’m starting to figure out, however, that the immediacy of a live broadcast isn’t always worth the uneven quality of the streamed video, so thanks to a tip from Matt I’ve upped the resolution of the recorded signal and am saving it to my N97’s 32 GB of built-in memory, for immediate uploading after I’ve pressed the stop button.

Qik comes pre-installed on the N97. It’s awesome.

And let’s not forget the links I continue to share via Opera Mini and the mobile version of Google Reader, which automatically posts to FriendFeed and onwards to Twitter and Facebook. You can also use the N97’s built-in browser, of course, but as I’ve so many mobile bookmarks saved to Opera Mini it’s a hard habit to break.

And now to my quandry: At what point does this constant sharing of news and content turn into a blanket of noise?

As social media secretary for this tour I’m purposefully going overboard blasting out text and media almost effortlessly to every social network that I’m a member of, but is such activity a worthy contribution to the mosaic of shared experience that is the Internet, or does it just create clutter? And is combing through the clutter a worthy price to pay for giving everyone a public voice?

This is but one of the many topics that I hope will come up in today’s Nokia-sponsored Mobile Camp

About Andrew

Mobile phones, Linux and copyright reform. Those go together, right?
This entry was posted in Mobile and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sharing Is Easy – Almost Too Easy

  1. Pingback: WOM World / Nokia » Blog Archive - 24/7 Tour - random thoughts

Comments are closed.