If this is the best that network television can do then I’m cancelling my cable service. Seriously.

So it’s come to this: the immediate future of American prime-time television rests squarely on Jay Leno’s perpetually shrugged shoulders.

It’s not that I have any huge objection to Jay Leno — I just find the idea of a chat show as TV’s brightest hope abhorrent…

Posted via web from Andrew Currie on Posterous

About Andrew

Mobile phones, Linux and copyright reform. Those go together, right?
This entry was posted in Posterous. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to If this is the best that network television can do then I’m cancelling my cable service. Seriously.

  1. Ed Miller says:

    AC:

    I have been cable-free since moving into my current apartment 2 1/2 years ago, and I don’t think I miss anything, what with being able to watch shows via the web or even buying them from iTunes.

    there are some things I miss, of course, because I live in the wrong country to watch them, but that’s a small price to pay to avoid all things Leno….

    Ed

  2. Ed Miller says:

    AC:

    Let’s see–just about anything that airs on a US network, such as those news-making SNL skits during the presidential election, were not avialable to Canadians, so I would have to visit the site of the Canadian networks who carry the show. Frankly, the Canadian networks collectively blow when it comes to website design and features. Do I want to watch 25% of an SNL episode? No. I just want to see a specific sketch, which is how Americans can see them on US sites.

    In an online world where Funny or Die, College Humor, Channel 101, Youtube, and the other big comedy sites feature nothing but sketch-length videos (free for anyone in the world to watch), restricting TV’s flagship political comedy show to Global’s pathetic website for all Canadians sucks even more than Air Farce reruns….

    Ed

Comments are closed.