Five handy tips to get your expectations in line with Ubuntu.

  1. Don’t expect it to be a free version of Windows or Mac
  2. Expect looking for alternative programs
  3. Expect a different look
  4. Expect things to be done differently
  5. Expect a different community

I’ve spent enough time dabbling in Ubuntu-based netbook distros that I more or less know what to expect when I boot up something new.

For those who haven’t yet had the pleasure, maybe these tips will help you get in the right mindset for your first Ubuntu (or other Linux) install…

Posted via web from Andrew Currie on Posterous

About Andrew

Mobile phones, Linux and copyright reform. Those go together, right?
This entry was posted in Posterous. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Five handy tips to get your expectations in line with Ubuntu.

  1. Ed Miller says:

    AC:

    Thanks for this. I installed Ubuntu on an old PC laptop I have, and I found it a bit daunting until I accepted the fact that I was now using my 3rd OS and shouldn’t expect it to be identical to Windows or Mac in terms of behaviour or functionality.

    I haven’t done much with it lately, but I will be looking at Ubuntu again now that my G5 is obsolete for both Final Cut and new versions of OS X….

    Ed

  2. Is there one ultimate resource of Ubuntu apps? I’d give it another try if I could be sure of getting the apps I needed without much effort. I know that sounds lazy, but I’m pretty busy. ^_^

Comments are closed.