#ACRTW – My first durian in Singapore.

Here’s something a little different — an audio clip describing my first taste of durian fruit on the famous Bugis Street in Sinapore’s Chinatown:

Download now or listen on posterous

My First Durian.wav (1181 KB)

Durian... um, meat?

Here’s what the “meat” looks like. The durian monger was packaging them to order so I paid a buck or two to sample a little piece. No way I could have finished a whole one…

Durian Husks

… But lot of folks do, apparently. Right beside the stand were a few tables with some diners (all women) enjoying a durian of their very own.

Posted via email from Andrew Currie on Posterous

About Andrew

Mobile phones, Linux and copyright reform. Those go together, right?
This entry was posted in Posterous, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #ACRTW – My first durian in Singapore.

  1. Ed Miller says:

    AC:

    When I was in Kuala Lumpur, my hotel had a small sign in the lobby: a durian with the red circle/slash over it. I guess the durian’s aroma is a lingering one?

    I didn’t get a chance to try one myself (unless it was an ingredient in the meals I ate while there) so you’ve allowed me to live vicariously this morning…

    Ed

Comments are closed.