#ACRTW – Taipei’s Modern Toilet Restaurant. For serious.

Table for one...

Okay, seriously… How can you not want to eat at a restaurant chain who’s tagline is “Shit or Food”?

Modern Toilet Entrance

Though Modern Toilet is a Taiwan-wide chain with multiple locations in Taipei alone, I chose to eat in the trendy Ximending shopping district. It proved quite challenging to find, and took a combination of Google Maps, the GPS on my N86 and an ad from a tourist map I brought with me from my hotel to arrive at this spot.

Modern Toilet Chicken Curry

Though I was early for dinner I wasn’t early enough to beat the after-school crowd, and was sat at a large glass-covered bathtub with some non-English-speaking locals. I didn’t let that stop me from ordering up a big black toilet-full of chicken curry.

Okay, the toilet wasn’t actually to scale…

Modern Toiilet Ice Cream Dessert

My meal also came with dessert, served up in a mini squat toilet. Can’t say it was as good as the curry, though… It looked like ice cream but I couldn’t really taste any dairy in it.

At the counter where you settle up you can also buy some souvenirs, like an oversized plush coil of poop with stitched-in plastic flies.

I can certainly recommend Modern Toilet as a unique dining experience. About the only complaint I had about my visit there was that I couldn’t use the actual washroom, as it was being cleaned at the time. Gross!

Posted via web from Andrew Currie on Posterous

About Andrew

Mobile phones, Linux and copyright reform. Those go together, right?
This entry was posted in Posterous, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #ACRTW – Taipei’s Modern Toilet Restaurant. For serious.

  1. whatleydude says:

    Am I a dufus? Why are you in Taipei? Holiday?

    You know I have a nokia-fiend/friend buddy there right? πŸ™‚

  2. Ed Miller says:

    AC:

    Doesn’t this chain go by the name McDonald’s here in North America?

    Just wondering…

    Ed

Comments are closed.